Skylar’s Birth Story- Part 1

On May 3, 2016 I woke up at 5:37 a.m. with the most intense cramps I’ve ever had. They were so strong and painful I shot out of bed. I went to the bedroom and notice I was bleeding. I decided to try and take a bath, hoping that would ease the pain, but it didn’t. I woke my wife up and told her we were having a baby today. I’ve said those words so many times before so she didn’t really believe me. After my bath she suggested I try and lay down for a little bit since she didn’t have to be up for another hour. As soon as I laid down I had to get back up because the cramps were so bad. I told her it was time to get up and to wake my mom up because we were having this baby today and I was calling the birthing center.

I called the birthing center at 6:31 a.m. and told them I was in labor and we would be there in an hour (the amount of time it would take us to get there). We still had to get some stuff packed and in the car so we didn’t end up leaving for 20 more minutes. What I thought were cramps turned out to be contraction and they were picking up. Finally, we got in the car and headed to Nashville. The drive was long and the contractions were more intense as we drove. I knew I was still bleeding but was expecting that. We finally got to the birthing center and went back to an examine room. I changed so the midwife could check how dilated I was and see what our plan would be. I was still 3.5 cm dilated but 90% effaced. I was not yet in active labor but would be soon. Since it was still early in the morning (8:30 am), my midwife suggested going down the street and getting some food in me because I would need my strength for labor and delivery. She said to come back in an hour or so to reassess me.

We went to panera but I was in so much pain and could hardly eat. I had a few pieces of fruit but was standing up and walking around the entire time. The bleeding was still going on and I knew things were progressing. Koryn really wanted something from Starbucks which was next door so we decided to head over there. The walk over was painful but I knew it would help progress my labor. By the time Koryn got her order I was so uncomfortable and said we needed to go back to the birthing center. I made the decision to go back and get checked and if I didn’t progress then I would be going to the hospital because the pain was so intense. We got to the birthing center at 9:30 am and I was at 5 cm, 90% effaced, and Skylar was at a 0 position. I was admitted by 10:00 am.

We got to my favorite birthing suite and started to get settled in. The midwife took my vitals and listened to Skylar’s heart rate. Once everything started to settle down I asked to get in the tub since I knew that would help me. I spent a lot of time going from the tub to the shower in the next few hours. Around 1 pm I was so exhausted, contractions were coming back to back and lasting for what seemed like forever. I just wanted to sleep. The midwives and nurses suggested I lay down using a peanut ball to see if that would help. Before I got the peanut ball I was checked again and at 6 cm. I laid down for a little bit and finally the pain was too much and I wanted to get in the tub again. They refilled the tub for me and I got back in, this is when things started to pick up. I don’t remember what time it was but I’m guessing it was around 1 pm.

I had one very strong contraction and remember saying I have to push. Before I knew it I had the midwives by my side. They wanted to check me to see if it was time. I was 8+ cm dilated but there was still a tiny piece of my cervix in the way and I couldn’t push without it moving out of the way. Contraction were coming faster and stronger and I knew it would be any time now. Finally, shortly before 2 pm I had one strong contraction and felt my water break. As soon as it happened I said my water broke and I looked up at my mom who was also by the tub and she called the midwife over. The midwife said there was meconium in the water and I had to get out of the tub. I had a number of people help me over to the bed while more people entered the room, I already knew something was wrong but everyone was staying calm.

Leave a Reply

