Skylar’s Birth Story-Part 3 (last and final part)

A nurse had to keep massaging my uterus and blood was still gushing out. I ended up with a ton of stitches and lost over 500 cc of blood but did not need a transfusion thankfully. Every time I moved or they massaged my uterus I bleed like crazy. It took over two hours for the midwife to stop the bleeding and stitch me up. Once the bleeding was somewhat under control I was able to sit up and really look at Skylar and she was perfect. I was able to breastfeed her and she latched on right away. I was in the delivery room until 6 pm that night then moved to a regular room. I was checked for bleeding every 30 minutes until 1 am when the bleeding finally stopped gushing when they pushed on my uterus.

There are other things about the birth that I left out part way because I don’t really remember where they fit into the day and part way because I blocked them out.

One of those things was I remember screaming and crying so much and my wife was by my head and she had to step away because of the amount of pain I was in. I remember hearing her crying because she didn’t know how to help me. I remember my mom crying while I was screaming and begging for the pain to be over. I remember feeling like I was being torn in half. I remember crying so much not knowing if our daughter was going to survive. I remember how relieved and excited everyone sounds the second she came out. I remember saying over and over again that she was so small when I first saw her. I remember turning her over on me and saying she’s still a girl. This is a day I will never forget.

The video from her birth:

That little pouty face

 

 Until next time,

The Rivers Family

Leave a Reply

